More Indigo!

I decided to spend some time working on my textiles this week so I went to Fujino and stay for a few days. I don’t know exactly how long it took me to make this piece because I was working on three projects at the same time, but roughly 2 full days. It takes a huge amount of work but it is definitely  worth it! I literally kissed the fabric when I untied it, partly because I am very pleased but also because I was very worried it came out all blue after all that work.

_MG_3078

I learnt to make this type of Shibori from my teacher Bryan. It was hard to visualize at the beginning, but we sat together to examine the fabric, have a look at photos and came up with a design.

_MG_3080

I am trying to figure out what technique is better for each type of fabric. This one in particular is a piece of linen I bought in Nippori sen-i gai last week. Because it is quite thick, it looks better with a lot of blue and less white. The combination of this fabric’s texture with the indigo dye gives the end product a lot of character.

_MG_3088

I still haven’t decided what to do with it, but I’m sure it will find the right place to sit very soon.

2 responses to “More Indigo!

Leave a comment, I'd love to read it!

