New Shibori Patterns

Just as I came back from holidays from a big adventure on a boat, I found myself packing again. I came back home for a great birthday onsen-style-celebration, and the next day I was sewing the hours away at the indigo farm AGAIN! Accompanied by the Mal de débarquement of course, that stood around for a few days.

To begin with, the fabric was boiled and prepared for dyeing and the patterns were designed. I really enjoyed making these because the sewing was fun to do, the technique worked really well on my fabric and the outcome was surprisingly unique.

Shibori_Tezukuri_01Here are the pieces first thing in the morning. I finished sewing them at who-knows-what-time the night before (how did time went by so fast?)

Shibori_Tezukuri_02

All neatly tied up before dyeing (not mentioning the cuts and wounds on my hands at this point)

Shibori_Tezukuri_03

After dyeing, when all the anticipation had build up.

In the photos below, they were drying in the sun and I was still taking it all in. Looking at them, going through all the steps in my mind, understanding why they look the way they do. Something new was learnt, something new made with my hands. I was very happy then, I still am.

Shibori_Tezukuri_04

Shibori_Tezukuri_05

Shibori_Tezukuri_06

I was specially keen on making some Shirokage/White Shadow Shibori this time (second from the left), and I’m pleased with it and with all the other pieces. In the end, they all came out with the mix of pure white, very dark indigo and softer shades of blue I was looking for. They might look like strips of fabric now, but I have big plans for these beauties!

16 responses to “New Shibori Patterns

  1. So lovely! Definitely wish I would’ve seen your blog before embarking on my own shibori experiment…

    Thanks again for the likes! (:

  2. Beautiful! Did you use linen fabric on these? I have had a problem preventing too much bleeding – I think the habotai silk I have used is too thin. Do you agree?

    • Yes, this was linen. Maybe you are right, maybe the silk is too thin but I do think the key is the way it’s tied! I also put something on top and underneath the fabric so that it doesn’t bleed from there either. Look at the photo before dyeing where I’ve put a thick layer of cling film. Have you been doing the same?

  3. Amazingly beautiful!!
    Do you sew the patterns on a loose machine stitch and then pull all the threads together before you wrap it around the pole and dip in the dye?
    🙂

    • Hi Louise, I stitch everything by hand. It takes much longer but that’s the beauty of it. The result is uneven and shouts outloud handmade. I also think you have more control over the stitches, specially on more complicated patterns. Thanks for your comment and good luck if you’re trying something similar!

  4. Is your technique like Katana or are you gathering the stitches? And then winding around a pole?

Leave a comment, I'd love to read it!

