Shibori pleating patterns

The following photos are the result of days of planning, sewing and dyeing. This is the Katano technique I’ve been after for a while, and I’m very happy I finally set my hands on it. After these attempts, I’m feeling a bit brave and want to keep inventing new patterns. Not all of them were successful though, there is a third piece that didn’t make it to the blog, but won the first place on the learning competition. One of those very useful disasters.

Pattern_Shibori_tezukuri_01

Pattern_Shibori_tezukuri_02

Pattern_Shibori_tezukuri_03

Pattern_Shibori_tezukuri_04

I dipped the fabric in the indigo vat ten times, the fabric turned out quite dark but in the photos they appear to be darker. But it’s still possible to see how the weave of the linen shows beautifully where the indigo bled. I really like that.

Even though I am very pleased with these pieces, I still need to make some improvements; try this technique a few more times and see what comes out of it. At the moment it has given me a lot of ideas for my next Katazome projet, on which I already started working!

Thanks to my dearest friend Yoshiko who gave me the beautiful bamboo hangers, they fit perfectly!

31 responses to “Shibori pleating patterns

  1. Hello!
    Your work is so stunning. Really jaw droppingly beautiful. What have you found ot be the best resources for starting Shibori? Any favorites books or online sources for patterns, etc…? Keep up the splendid work. I’m so glad I found your site!

    • Hi Elisa, that is very kind of you to say! I’m glad you like my work. It’s a labour of love, Shibori takes time and so much effort! If you’re after a good book in English I’d suggest you get a copy of “Shibori: The Inventive Art of Japanese Shaped Resist Dyeing” and start from there… good luck!

  2. This is one great piece of work i have seen so far. The only problem I am facing is the method or the process by which you did it. If u could please tell me ho you did it.

  3. This is extraordinary. Your work is lovely. Are there any opportunities to take Shibori workshops for this kind of work? I live in Wisconsin but am able to travel.

    • Hi Michele, thank you for your message! I do love this technique and would love to run a workshop in the near future. I haven’t got one planned yet but if you follow the blog, I will be posting any news here. On the meantime, if you travel to the UK let me know and maybe you can visit the studio.

  4. You have made a gorgeous textile! Thank you for sharing! I need to research the Katano technique for myself. Also, the bamboo hanger is the perfect work of art to display it. Just lovely.

Leave a comment, I'd love to read it!

