Making a Katagami: Stencil dyeing from start to finish

Making a handmade stencil is not a quick job, but once it’s done you know you’ll be able to use it over and over. To make the effort worthwhile, I’d advice anyone making one to make smaller tests until they’re  satisfied with the design.  You don’t want to spend hours cutting it to find out you just don’t like it in the end.

stencil dyeing_tezukuri_01

stencil dyeing_tezukuri_03

stencil dyeing_tezukuri_04

I designed and cut my stencil in a thorough process that lasted a few days. Then, I lacquered a silk net onto it to make it stronger, let to dry in the shade and finally began applying the resist paste.

stencil dyeing_tezukuri_05

The cheeky glass of wine in the photo above, was only there to show the proportion ;). Anyway, I made a repeated pattern, and also single ones in smaller pieces that will become place matts.

I dyed them with natural indigo and this is the result after the paste was rinsed off:

stencil dyeing_tezukuri_06

stencil dyeing_tezukuri_07

I wanted my stencil to repeat both vertically and horizontally and to look different from any other pattern I’ve seen. So when I was ready, I took a new piece of persimmon paper, drew and cut out the pieces I wanted to be resisted during the dying process. Making your own Katagami is fun and a challenging process that I would recommend to anyone creating their own textiles.

9 responses to “Making a Katagami: Stencil dyeing from start to finish

  1. Pingback: Indian mud resist + Indigo | T E Z U K U R I·

  2. What did you use for resist paste? I am curious.. I have tried my hand at batik, but this is so clean.
    Also any experience in katano?

Leave a comment, I'd love to read it!

